When Disappointment Follows Disappointment

Often we assume that once we have surrendered our lives to Jesus, our lives will begin to flow smoothly. This belief gets reinforced as we see around us how God prospers and blesses others believers very. We hear repeatedly how children of God walk in blessings and are urged to expect nothing but the very best. But for many years I struggled with all the things that was going wrong in my life. Don’t get me wrong. I was aware of God’s mercy in my life and grateful for the same. But far too many things were wrong and remained so, and I struggled to reconcile my understanding of God with my experience.

I later learned that apparently I was a slow learner. Though I believed and trusted God in my own way, I was not willing to change my attitude. God patiently drew my attention to my problem and wrought a change in my attitude and mental makeup. I made the decision to stop even unconsciously thinking negative thoughts and began to reaffirm my trust that God was working behind the scenes on my behalf. As I consistently placed my trust in Him, I positioned myself for promotion! I began to see the results. I saw God taking and turning the bad stuff for my good!

God has promised us in Isaiah 43.2 that, ‘When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.”

No matter what you may be facing today, make the decision that you are going to shake off negative thinking and trust that God is working behind the scenes. The more we trust Him and exercise our faith in Him, the more we prepare ourselves for promotion. Focus on the fact that if God is with us who can be against us. If you’ll work with God, He’ll take every adversity, turn it around, and use it for your good. Sure it is uncomfortable, but you’ve got to know that God is maturing you. He is building character in you, and he is preparing you for the promotion and increase He has in store for your future!

Leave a comment