When the tree is yet green

Today’s discussion is based on Luke 23:35. here we read, ‘The people stood watching, and the rulers even sneered at him. They said, “He saved others; let him save himself if he is the Christ of God, the Chosen One.”’

In John 10.18 Jesus says, ‘No one takes it (Jesus’ life) from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

 

However, we see that it is written in Romans 8:11And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he (God the Father) who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you”.

The rulers in Luke 23:35 (see above) may be the synagogue rulers or the  Roman rulers who were present at Jesus crucifixion as observers. They mocked Jesus saying, ‘let him save himself’. The spirit of Lucifer says “I will ascend, I will do this, I will do that..” The emphasis is on the ‘I’. People led by the same spirit even now mock those who place all their faith in Lord Jesus. “So, you pray for others to be healed, why don’t you heal yourself?, You perform miracles, why not perform a  miracle to raise your son?’ There has always been mockers. Jesus himself said, ‘For if men do these things when the tree is green, what will happen when it is dry?” (Luke 23.31)

As disciples of Jesus, we follow in His footsteps. Though Jesus had authority to give up his life for the sins of the world and also to take it up, on the cross he committed his soul into the hands of God the Father. (Luke 23.46) As prophesied, three days later, he (God the Father) raised Christ from the dead. Like the three Hebrew boys in book of Daniel during the reign of King Nebuchadnezzar, we too say, ‘even when thrown into the blazing furnace of testing, the God we serve is able to save us from it, but even if he does not, we will not serve your gods.’ (ref. Daniel 3.16-18)

Leave a comment